Musings | An Invitation to Dinner

8 Aug

Yes, the overused, now mundane icebreaker: If you could invite any three people to dinner, who would it be? The reason this topic of conversation is now cliché is because everyone always has the same answers: Jesus, Buddha, and John Lennon (or something of that sort). Perhaps I’m not in tune with matters of the heart and soul, but honestly, such trios don’t sound like a rollicking good time to me. So, bored at work, I had this conversation with another instructor, and have created my own list:

Woody Allen: He is intelligent, witty, and most likely a brilliant conversationalist. His wife (daughter, or whatever he calls her) is not invited.
F. Scott Fitzgerald: He is a brilliant socialite, an amazing writer, and I presume he will drink Scotch and Whiskey with me.
Che Guevara: There is something rather alluring about an extremely attractive, rebellious South American who stands up for what he believes in. (though I request that he attend in Motorcycle Diaries, not guerilla warfare, attire).
Franz Kafka: Maybe everyone else at the party will liven him up a bit, and I can finally find out what the last sentence of The Castle was going to be.
Tim Burton, Helena Bonham Carter, and Johnny Depp: They will count as one person, since they are sort of a Trinity. They are strange and mysterious, and every party needs a table of intellectual weirdoes.
David Sedaris: Every party also needs a gay guy; plus, he’s smart and funny.
Jon Stewart: a 21st century satirist. I like it.
Ann Coulter: I would just like the opportunity to slap her across the face.

11 Responses to “Musings | An Invitation to Dinner”

  1. Juan Espinosa August 9, 2006 at 11:16 PM #

    Sounds like it will be a fun gathering. If it is B.Y.O.B., I’ll bring a cold keg and a tap.

  2. wes August 10, 2006 at 2:04 PM #

    i thought you could only invite 3 people your going to have to narrow it down

  3. katya August 15, 2006 at 12:09 AM #

    Sounds like a delightful dinner party. However, I do believe that during your planning you left out a few important guests…myself being one of them, so I have decided that I shall help you with this endeavor and add a few more guests…Giacomo: How could you forget him. He does seem to possess all the ideal qualities we all want in a man, except for one flaw-being Giacomo. However, the tensions and feelings of jealousy would add some fun to the party.La Otra: How could you not?!? There is nothing like a real good cat fight between two slightly tipsy woman. We obviously know who would win the fight…ALL the fights. Cute in a Nerdy Way: Would it be mean to invite him with Giacomo present? I don’t know if he could compete. We may find him sulking in a corner, because he has given up. I don’t really think he has the ‘cojones’, but we must think about the book and we do need to get all we can.PR: Even though he is not personally known by the host, I believe he could add some interesting flavor to the party. He is cute and very nice and definitly has the cojones.I will stop the list there…unless someone else comes to mind later. I will leave you with a quote that I have found to be quite true… “Real love is the love that sometimes arises after sensual pleasure: if it does, it is immortal; the other kind inevitably goes stale, for it lies in mere fantasy.”

  4. Anaka Johnston August 18, 2006 at 9:52 PM #

    Of course you’re invited, and I do like your list of guests! By the way, who wrote the quote at the end of your comment? I like it.

  5. katya August 19, 2006 at 1:04 AM #

    None other than Casanova….I am so glad that I am invited because where else would you find a French/Somali/Jewish/Muslim/Unitarian/Liberal/Wisconsinite?

  6. Anaka Johnston September 10, 2006 at 11:05 PM #

    Katya, upon further thought I have decided that only one from your list will actually be invited – PR. And you, of course. The others have really started to annoy me.

  7. Julie September 15, 2006 at 10:11 PM #

    What about Bono?? If he comes I’ll come too.

  8. Anonymous September 16, 2006 at 4:43 AM #

    dinner sminner..how about a picnic lunch?

  9. Anaka Johnston September 19, 2006 at 10:35 PM #

    Ok, Bono can come as long as he wears his color tinted sunglasses circa “It’s a Beautiful Day.” In the meantime, I will consider the picnic.

  10. Anonymous April 23, 2008 at 7:06 PM #

    I want to come to the party & I will bring Jesus, Budda, ect. & kick Woody Allen’s ass to the curb.

  11. Hope June 22, 2010 at 1:28 PM #

    Hey, when you invite David Sedaris and John Stewart to dinner, could you also invite Stephen Colbert…and then invite me?

    Same goes for the Tim Burton, Helena Bonham Carter, Johnny Depp party. Please invite me. I promise I won’t be boring.

    Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

