∑ (Bar-b-que)+(Ginseng)+(Karaoke) = x

14 Aug

When writing a blog, it’s always good to hear that one has readership of some sort, albeit if those readers happen to be one’s closest friends and family. How pleased I was to find out, then, that a few of my students former students stumbled across my blog one evening whilst googling my name. Pleased I was to be googled. Pleased I was to know that I’m not the only person who googles other people. And so very pleased I was to find out that not only did my students former students read my blog once, they returned to read more. Cheers! My small readership now extends to France and Brazil. Europe and South America, today! Tomorrow – the world! So, as a note of graciousness to these endeared students, I’d like to dedicate this very post to them, and in doing so relate my last Friday, which was spent in their company.

Alas, Friday was my favorite French student’s last night in Tejas, so naturally an Au Revoir dinner was in order. Like any good Texan, he chose bar-b-que as his last Texan meal, and like any good Korean, we all proceeded to a Korean cafe after dinner. And what a fabulous cafe it was – the ginseng tea (which none of the Koreans at my table actually like, and which they refused to believe I actually enjoyed) tasted very healthy and was adorned with fruits and dates I had never had before. I have no idea what the overhead music was about, but it sounded so very jovial and added to the enjoyment of my hot tea. The best part, however, is that each table was afforded it’s own little cubicle with walls and swinging doors, allowing for intimacy amongst a small group of friends.

After coffee and tea, we naturally proceeded to a Korean Karaoke bar. I will admit – I was a little nervous at first, as when I think of karaoke, I conjure images of people so inebriated that they somehow believe they can successfully entertain a Saturday night crowd with their own rendition of “Grease Lightening.”

I had a lot to learn, however, as does the American karaoke crowd. Just as we were given intimate cubicles to enjoy our Korean tea, we were also given a private room to enjoy our Karaoke. There were about ten separate rooms, one of which we rented out for a few hours. The room was furnished with five leather couches, a coffee table, a big screen television, two microphones, and two tambourines. The best part, however, was the disco ball suspended from the ceiling. How could one NOT sing in such an atmosphere! The Koreans were oh-so-professional, and after a few rounds the French, the Brazilian, and the American summoned up the courage to do our own rendition of “Dancing Queen” and “Wonderwall.” And I don’t want to brag, but I became quite professional with the tambourine!

Overall, it might just be one of my favorite nights of Summer 2007, and will long rest in my memory as a very favorable evening. So, to my French reader – we will miss you in Texas, but I have not forgotten our agreement. Now that I am unemployed, perhaps you will find me quite soon singing and dancing (Abba??) on the streets of Paris for money. . . it will surely beat the corporate choices here in the States. And to my Brazilian – I’m glad that we have you in Texas for at least a few more weeks, as we are always in great need of a Jim Morrison impersonator.

8 Responses to “∑ (Bar-b-que)+(Ginseng)+(Karaoke) = x”

  1. Noelle August 14, 2007 at 5:53 PM #

    Don’t forget that you have me over here in New York as well, which is not as interesting as Brazil or France, but it’s still quite far from Texas.

    The sad thing is that I usually blog anonymously, so if you Google my real name, all you get are hits about an MP of the Canadian Parliament.

  2. Noelle August 14, 2007 at 5:53 PM #

    Don’t forget that you have me over here in New York as well, which is not as interesting as Brazil or France, but it’s still quite far from Texas. The sad thing is that I usually blog anonymously, so if you Google my real name, all you get are hits about an MP of the Canadian Parliament.

  3. Anonymous August 14, 2007 at 9:23 PM #

    Did I tell you, dear Anaka, that your Aunt Cindy is moving from Peru to Paris, France? Now you can go to France & stay with her & dance in the streets in your spare time! She is going quite soon & will live there for six years—so go for it!

  4. Anonymous August 14, 2007 at 9:23 PM #

    Did I tell you, dear Anaka, that your Aunt Cindy is moving from Peru to Paris, France? Now you can go to France & stay with her & dance in the streets in your spare time! She is going quite soon & will live there for six years—so go for it!

  5. katya August 15, 2007 at 3:58 AM #

    i was so sad to have missed the talked about evening, but i feel like i must add my piece about another evening attended by those mentioned in your blog.
    to monsieur french: keep dancing and remember how i told you to shake your hips.
    to brazil: the chicken macarena will always hold a special place in my heart.
    to the blogger: as much i will not miss life in hell, i will truly miss the times spent in the pagan circle and the ’15’ minute breaks. you made my time in hell so much better than it could have been, and for that i thank you…

  6. katya August 15, 2007 at 3:58 AM #

    i was so sad to have missed the talked about evening, but i feel like i must add my piece about another evening attended by those mentioned in your blog.to monsieur french: keep dancing and remember how i told you to shake your hips.to brazil: the chicken macarena will always hold a special place in my heart.to the blogger: as much i will not miss life in hell, i will truly miss the times spent in the pagan circle and the ’15’ minute breaks. you made my time in hell so much better than it could have been, and for that i thank you…

  7. Pia August 27, 2007 at 3:39 AM #

    I’m your newest reader!!!!! Love your blogs!

  8. Pia August 27, 2007 at 3:39 AM #

    I’m your newest reader!!!!! Love your blogs!

Leave a Reply

