The AMA :

20 Sep

I think it fair to say that the latest Video Music Awards were quite disappointing; the fact that MTV chose Britney Spears to open the show says a lot, but apparently the overall quality of the show was not up to par. As for the winners, I will admit that many of them are talented musicians who deserve to win, yet I still think that the American audience is missing out on many talented artists from around the world, and therefore I would like to give my own awards – I am nowhere close to being a music connoisseur, but following are my very own AMA:

Best New Rapper: K’naan
Perhaps he’s not new, but I only recently discovered him. While American rappers are rapping about girls and sex (though they prefer a different choice of words) and money and such, K’naan, who is from Somalia, writes about struggling, philosophy, and the hope for peace. It sounds uber-cheesy, but his lyrics and music are anything but. Even if it is the only thing you do today, watch his video Soobax. It will make your day worthwhile, trust me.

Best New CD of 2007: Manu Chao Radiolina
My international friends and students have always been surprised that I know about Manu Chao, but I am more surprised that more of my American friends haven’t ever heard of him. Manu Chao blends French, Spanish, English, and Arabic lyrics and draws from various musical traditions including Spanish and North African. I attended his concert this summer, and was so fervent about it that I bought tickets for one of my best friends, as well. Without a doubt, it was THE BEST concert I have ever experienced. So much energy, so much camaraderie, and a brilliant musical set. If I were retired, I just might be a Manu Chao groupie. This older video isn’t of the greatest quality, but one of my favorites, and this video is from the new album. Both prove that Manu Chao doesn’t need fancy-schmancy “sex and candy.” His music is enough to ensure a a world-wide following.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Gipsy Kings
Anyone who knows me well has been forced at one point to listen to Gipsy Kings in my car, in my apartment, in the morning, and late at night. And if you are a man who aims to impress, you’d better be ready to have a Gipsy Kings dance party with me. My obsession with the Gipsy Kings has tempted my sister to toss their cd out my car window (at which point I would have denied my closest blood relation). Whichever the mood, the time of day, or the hour of the night,Gipsy Kings are always my favorite, which is why they are all deserving of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Best Unknown Song 2007: Unknown (but it’s really good)
I found this song on my ipod, one of those unknown entries that one has no idea when nor where it may have been downloaded. It could be French, it could be Arabic. It could be Gnawa Diffusion, Idir or Manu Chao (all are listed on my ipod). Regardless of who this song might belong to, it is one of my most wonderful discovieries of this year, and being that I had to go through around twenty websites, some of which were in Arabic, to finally find a link (on myspace of all places), I am trusting all readers of this blog to at least click on this link and listen. . .

Best New Single 2007: Paris Combo, Moi, ma Ame, et ma Conscience
Only the Parisians could improve American Jazz to such a degree. Sadly, the only video I could find for this song is this English bloke doing his very own The Office rendition. If you are so inclined, click on this link, tune out the wierd guy dancing in his conferance room (though he’s rather amusing), and hear the brilliant Paris Combo.

10 Responses to “The AMA :”

  1. Noelle September 21, 2007 at 3:55 PM #

    Wow, that’s an amazing collection you’ve got there. Sometimes I wish I knew more about music, but most times it’s nice to just let people tell me.

  2. Noelle September 21, 2007 at 3:55 PM #

    Wow, that’s an amazing collection you’ve got there. Sometimes I wish I knew more about music, but most times it’s nice to just let people tell me.

  3. Megaan September 21, 2007 at 6:14 PM #

    I love the AMA awards! They are far superior to any other award show! Is the lady in the last picture a mannequin? She certainly looks like one. 🙂

  4. Megaan September 21, 2007 at 6:14 PM #

    I love the AMA awards! They are far superior to any other award show! Is the lady in the last picture a mannequin? She certainly looks like one. 🙂

  5. k.b. September 21, 2007 at 8:16 PM #

    The wierd guy dancing in the Paris Combo video is so funny. Thanks for the suggestions. I love the Anaka Music Awards!

  6. k.b. September 21, 2007 at 8:16 PM #

    The wierd guy dancing in the Paris Combo video is so funny. Thanks for the suggestions. I love the Anaka Music Awards!

  7. Anonymous September 21, 2007 at 11:56 PM #

    Ok, you are “in the know” on these awards; I suggest the AMA send you a ballot next year. I put this all in a draft for future enjoyment.

  8. Anonymous September 21, 2007 at 11:56 PM #

    Ok, you are “in the know” on these awards; I suggest the AMA send you a ballot next year. I put this all in a draft for future enjoyment.

  9. Anonymous September 22, 2007 at 1:44 AM #

    I have yet to watch a MTV VMA since Eminem came on stage with a hundred look alikes. I guess I have been bored with corporate force fed crap for the last several years. Lately, I have been listening to a lot to bands such as the Kaiser Chiefs, Interpol, Bloc Party, The Editors, Peter Bjorn & John, Kanye West, Timbaland, and various dj’s. Actually, I think it is great you have such a diverse taste for music. However, it will be rare for any of those talented artists to be known in the JuEsAy.

    Blog you later: CHooEY

    PS: Hola MEgaN!

  10. Anonymous September 22, 2007 at 1:44 AM #

    I have yet to watch a MTV VMA since Eminem came on stage with a hundred look alikes. I guess I have been bored with corporate force fed crap for the last several years. Lately, I have been listening to a lot to bands such as the Kaiser Chiefs, Interpol, Bloc Party, The Editors, Peter Bjorn & John, Kanye West, Timbaland, and various dj’s. Actually, I think it is great you have such a diverse taste for music. However, it will be rare for any of those talented artists to be known in the JuEsAy.Blog you later: CHooEYPS: Hola MEgaN!

Leave a Reply

