Index Monday

6 Nov

Percentage of Americans who purchased a Halloween costume this year:53.3
Average cost of costume: $31.88
Total amount Americans spent on Halloween costumes collectively: 3.3 billion
Number of children who wore a princess costume,the most popular this year: 3.78 million
Percentage of adults aged 18-24 who dressed up in Halloween attire: 54.7
Percentage of adults who wore a pumpkin, clown, or angel costume, respectively: 1.3; 2.3; 2.3
Going rate of a pumpkin mascot costume: $725.00
Amount of money my friend Bing spent making her own pumpkin costume: $10.00
Number of times I have dressed as a dark angel for Halloween: 3
Number of children my parents have who were made to wear a duck costume at some point in thier lives: 2
Top 3 scariest novels of all time according to a CNN archive: Dracula; The Shining; The Excorcist
Number of times I’ve read these books, respectively: 0; 1; 0
Amount of money spent on “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” prop coffin at a recent Heritage Auction Gallery: $3,883.75
Number of bids: 3
Amount of money spent on a lock of Che Guevar’s hair auctioned by the same gallery: $119,000
Average amount of money Americans spend on haircuts: $21
Number of times I’ve cut my own bangs, late night: 1
Number of times I will do this again: 0

3 Responses to “Index Monday”

  1. Zee November 7, 2007 at 3:27 AM #

    Love your list! I’d love to see that duck costume. I know I spend way too much making my costume every year (I probably spent a good $100 at least), but I figure it’s the only real holiday I get to dress up however I feel – and not get strange looks, that is.

    Thanks for the comment! There’s a group of us over at the NaBlo site called 30 Days of Thanks, if you want to join in!

  2. Susanna Brooks November 7, 2007 at 3:42 PM #

    I’ve read Dracula. It’s really not that scary. I had to read it for my class in college called Victoria’s Secrets.

  3. Noelle November 8, 2007 at 1:37 AM #

    Dracula is possibly the least scary movie of all time. He lurks around for an hour, and then gets killed off screen. It is possibly the most disappointing ending of any movie ever, which is why I don’t feel that I’m spoiling anything by telling you. I must save the others from this boredom.

Leave a Reply

