Video of the week . . .

7 Nov

Once, when I traversed the streets of a village in Italy that borders Switzerland, I lost my way, but overheard a small group of Swiss tourists speaking German. Happily, I approached and asked “Kannst du Deutsch?” One of the oh-so-friendly gentleman laughed and said “Nein.” Luckily, his kinder friend obliged me. Another time, when I was salsa dancing in Prague, I met a Russian fellow whom I asked in my best Russian “What is your name.” He, too, gave me a very friendly answer – “What is my name? Where am I from? Do you want to take me to bed? It’s always the same with you tourists.” (An answer to which I quickly salsa-ed off in the opposite direction). However so rude, I have always remembered these two conversations with great amusement, and the following video reminds me of those two men . . .

2 Responses to “Video of the week . . .”

  1. Anonymous November 9, 2007 at 2:44 AM #

    Having traveled extensively in my life, I have always tried to learn the basics of the language in whatever country I happened to find myself. I don’t recall ever asking someone to take me to bed….at least not in the same conversation that contained ‘what is your name’.Also, when I am speaking English in a foreign country and someone asks me if I speak English, I find it quite amusing.

  2. The Smarter Princess November 11, 2007 at 2:41 AM #

    Oh this was so good! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

