Friendship, Pumpkin Pie, and a Brief Stint as Martha Stewart

9 Nov

Inspired by the first days of Autumn and the cool breeze that finally billowed through Texas (brief though it was), two of my friends and I decided to spend an evening baking pumpkin pies, listening to Christmas music, and catching up over a bottle of wine. An evening of this sort is quite an anomalie in juxtaposition to our usual reverie, so what a pleasant surprise to realize that it was an oh-so-fabulous way to spend one’s evening. Bing, Court, and I baked to our heart’s content, chatted about boys, jewelry, and life, and sipped wine to the tunes of Ella Fitzgerald. The entire apartment was filled with the smell of pumpkin and spices, and the white Christmas lights we bought set a gentle glow throughout Bing’s apartment. If the holidays weren’t more than two months away, I’d say that we were filled with the spirit of Christmas, but as I don’t think the Spirit is that early of a riser (unless you’re Ebeneezer Scrooge), I’ll just say that we were filled with the spirit of friendship, and I left with a great feeling of kinship and a smiling pumpking pie (though, please note the gash that adorns his smiling facade). So with that, I’ll end my Martha Stewart-esque post, but continue to maintain my holiday spirit by perusing a Dickensian volume of forgotten lore. Now, isn’t that nice?

3 Responses to “Friendship, Pumpkin Pie, and a Brief Stint as Martha Stewart”

  1. Jocelyn Reese November 12, 2007 at 2:18 PM #

    That was so much fun! I am still eating my pie. Maybe we should bake for others more often-

  2. Noelle November 12, 2007 at 4:56 PM #

    I would like to have a pumpkin pie right now. If it had a smiley face, that would be even better.

  3. Hope November 13, 2007 at 9:39 PM #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the smiley pie! 🙂 All food should have friendly faces.

Leave a Reply

