Friday Mansaf

12 Nov


I spent my Friday evening with George Glass (aptly named as my friends are starting to doubt his existance; not so aptly named as he hails from Jordan and
George Glass
isn’t exactly an Arabic name.)

Moving along . . we decided to dine out at my oh-so-favorite Arabic cafe. And Friday was an especially good day to dine, as only on this day do they serve Mansaf, a recipe traditional to Jordan. Lamb seasoned with aromatic herbs and spices, cooked in a creamy al jamid yoghurt, and served with an infinite amount of rice and bedouin bread. It was initially peculiar to my taste buds, but after a few bites, I couldn’t stop eating. It is truly addictive. I want to go back. Tomorrow. And the next day.

My advice – if you haven’t tried Mansaf yet, then get ye to an Arabic restaurant and partake. As for me – you know where to find me on Fridays. . .

2 Responses to “Friday Mansaf”

  1. Katya November 13, 2007 at 4:55 PM #

    Which Arabic Cafe served you such yummy food?
    Oh…I will vouch for the existance of George Glass…I have seen him with my own eyes…I may have even seen him dancing with a certain someone in my living room…

  2. megaan November 19, 2007 at 4:18 AM #

    mansaf sounds great@! You even get the “at” symbol.

Leave a Reply

