Name that Master . . .

18 Dec

Because I failed miserably at posting every day during NaBloPoMo, I thought I should prove to myself that I can succeed at something, and behold – I went ONE MONTH without posting anything! And to top my success . . . I’m not going to write anything today. But, I am going to provide this oh-so-fabulous animation of oh-so-brilliant 20th century art:

As I watched, I tried to name all of the masters, a feat at which I, once again, failed miserably, though I did name Matisse’s The Green Stripe, which I once painted myself and now adorn proudly upon my wall. (I should add that everyone always asks – “Who’s that man? Your ex-boyfriend?” Either my skill is not up to par, or my ex-boyfriend looks like a pre-Cubiscent quasi-abstract Fauv. Personally, I prefer the latter of these explanations . . .)

4 Responses to “Name that Master . . .”

  1. Susanna Brooks December 18, 2007 at 3:52 PM #

    The Green Stripe was actually the first painting I learned how to paint. I have a great affection for it. Matisse is one of my favorite fauves.

    So, I wrote down all the artists I saw. Here you go:
    van Gogh
    Gaugin
    Munch (which included this painting of his about a pubescent girl that I hate)
    Matisse
    Kirchner
    Picasso
    Chagall
    O’Keefe
    Kahlo
    Ribera
    Duchamp
    Magritte
    Dali
    Miro
    deKooning
    Bacon
    Rothko
    Warhol
    Lichtenstein
    Close
    Guston

    And there were many that I missed. Does anyone know who they are??

  2. opehlia December 19, 2007 at 6:04 PM #

    I did okay on this one…I really liked the video.

    Glad to see you’re back, but please don’t leave us for another month…I so enjoy reading your blog…

  3. Hannah December 23, 2007 at 6:40 AM #

    I love this! Very nice.

  4. Anika January 11, 2008 at 5:33 AM #

    Susanna – I’m REALLY impressed with your list. I had thought you missed Bacon, and was so excited to say “HA! You miss one!”
    But, I was wrong.
    I guess there’s no competing with an Art History major . . .
    I will try to add to your list after I dust off “The History of Modern Art.”

Leave a Reply

