A Shockingly Good Turkey Sandwich . . .

18 Jan

There is a deli on the fourth floor of my office building where I occasionally dine for lunch. Despite the friendly welcome and the smiling faces of the chef and cashier, the following sign, which really is posted on the wall, shows how they truly feel about their customers:

On the third floor of the same building is a gym. You can’t beat the convenience of working out only five floors down from your desk. You also can’t beat the awkwardness of running the treadmill next to your manager. Even more awkward is the co-ed whirlpool. Whirlpools are already shady business – being emerged in a pot of bubbling water with half-naked strangers who have zombie-like looks of relaxation upon their faces is weird; sitting in my swim-suit across from my co-workers in their swim-suits is just too disturbing to think about. I most likely won’t be skimming those waters anytime soon.

8 Responses to “A Shockingly Good Turkey Sandwich . . .”

  1. Noelle January 18, 2008 at 12:21 PM #

    Both of those strike me as a lawsuit waiting to happen.

  2. katya January 19, 2008 at 3:50 AM #

    Whirlpools are a cesspool of creepy crawly microscopic things, so I am glad that you are staying away.
    Didn’t you mention something about a salon in your building as well???

  3. Megaan January 19, 2008 at 5:24 AM #

    The fork in the socket has me in hysterics!

  4. Anonymous January 19, 2008 at 7:29 PM #

    Sometimes after I eat at the deli in my building, I want to electrocute myself. Hopefully the food in your deli is better!

  5. WORDofRYE January 20, 2008 at 1:18 PM #

    OMG, that sign is AWESOME!! hahaha

    Oh, and I COMPLETELY agree with you on the whirlpool. *shudder*

  6. Flannery January 20, 2008 at 7:33 PM #

    Maybe after you sit in the whirlpool together you can go to the doctor’s together for some community building antibiotics. Sounds like nonstop fun to me!

  7. cassie-b January 20, 2008 at 10:51 PM #

    Nice to be able to exercise where you work. It’s harder to make excuses about not having time.

    Although in my case, I was changing into gym clothes, and a senior manager with little modesty was changing right next to me. I was embarrased, even if she wasn’t

    Cas

  8. alyndabear January 22, 2008 at 9:03 PM #

    Oh my …. that sign is for real? Hah! I shouldn’t laugh but REALLY?

Leave a Reply

