Moving in Style . . .

21 Jan

Little Megaan decided it was time to revamp her living situation and move into a stylish loft. Good thinking on her part. Not so clear thinking, however, is her decision to forgo hiring movers, other than Montey Montgomery and myself.
Montey and I arrived at Megaan’s new place on a cold Saturday morning, and found her next to her rented U-Haul, proudly displaying her new found mode of moving-transportation – a red shopping cart most likely from the neighborhood Target.
“Look what I found! It works fabulously!”
And so it did, and the looks upon the neighbors’ faces as we carted around the corridors with boxes in tow was even better. Getting the shopping cart onto the elevator before the doors closed wasn’t the easiest task, but we were able to complete her move in a few short hours. Perhaps we should start our own moving company.
Speaking of revamping one’s living space, Montey decided it was time for a new mode of sleep, and purchased a mattress and box spring from Macy’s. After it was successfully delivered and set up (though not by means of a shopping cart), Montey settled down for a night of shuteye. Much to his chagrin, however, something seemed amiss about his mattress, as no matter how hard he tried, he couldn’t prevent himself from rolling towards the middle. He asked Megaan to test it out to ensure it wasn’t in his head.
“I feel like I’m in a taco. Something is definitely wrong,” she affirmed.
So Montey called Macy’s to make a formal complaint.
And they sent . . .The Mattress Tester.
A man in a pinstriped suit and round glasses showed up with a mattress testing mechanism. After he lay upon Montey’s mattress for a minute or so, he tested the depth of the problem, and confirmed, indeed there was a problem.
I wish I had known of such a job on Career Day when I was young.
“When I grow up, I want to be a Mattress Tester!”
I can only imagine my parent’s disappointment.

3 Responses to “Moving in Style . . .”

  1. WORDofRYE January 22, 2008 at 1:05 PM #

    Hahaha! OMG, I’ve never heard of a Mattress Tester! Now THAT sounds like a job for me 🙂 Oh, and moving … booo! Never a fun event.

  2. cassie-b January 22, 2008 at 1:53 PM #

    I think that mattress tester sounds like the right job for me. Since I was laid off recently, maybe I should look for that position in the available jobs column.

    Cas

  3. katya January 23, 2008 at 10:11 PM #

    Since I may be sans job soon, I thought I may try out a new career in mattress testing. After thinking on it though, I realized that I would have to lay in peoples beds and the mattresses might not be new and clean…they actually may be dirty and full of bed bugs and other repulsive things. So after a lot of soul searching, I decided I would rather wait for the unemployment check in the mail.

Leave a Reply

