Oh, to be a Deltiologist!*

25 Jan


Around May of last year, I decided to become one of those unique human specimens known as a “collector” – not in the OCD-I-Throw-Away-Nothing sense, but rather in the I-Have-A-Wide-Array-of-Interesting-Objects sense. Having made that decision, I then had to decide what exactly I should collect.
Antiques? Too expensive.
Stamps? Too tiny.
Boys? Hmmmmm.
No, too much trouble.
Postcards? Why, yes!
Thus, I decided to take upon the noble quest of collecting a postcard from every country and territory in the world. Impossible, you say? Why, that makes my quest all the more thrilling! And for added value, each postcard must be stamped, addressed, and mailed.
I’ll admit, North Korea will be a stretch, but thus far I’ve recieved a postcard from Bora Bora, Cambodia, Thailand, Germany, Turkey, and Iran. 6 down, 192+ to go!
Imagine my happiness, then, when George Glass, learning of my strange hobby, secretly called his best friend and had him send me postcards from around the UAE! Stamped, mailed, and even inscribed!
Thus, not only have I added to my collection, but George Glass has earned some major points in my book. . .
So, now that you’ve allowed me to ramble about one deltiologist’s determined quest, I leave you with this lovely image of my postcard from Dubai:

*Deltiologist: One who has a strong desire to accumulate postcards. Yes, there is a word for that. Also, an answer in a recent NY Times crossword puzzle.

4 Responses to “Oh, to be a Deltiologist!*”

  1. Anonymous January 26, 2008 at 5:05 AM #

    Escuche prissy miss, you cannot do the NY Times crossword; how do I know? Because I am an avid crossword puzzle person, and I can not do the NY Times. Thank you and goodbye!

  2. cassie-b January 29, 2008 at 1:38 AM #

    What an excellent collection. It’s unique and doesn’t take up much space. If you ever decide to collect post cards from each of the United States, I’d like to send you one from Pennsylvania.

    Cas

  3. Katya January 29, 2008 at 3:07 PM #

    So I guess from now on when I travel I will send you a postcard instead of bring you home a shot glass.
    At least OCD helped contribute to something good.
    By the way, I have quite a large collection of stamps (bet you didn’t know that). I inherited them and I was told there are some that are worth quite a bit of money. But you are correct-they are too tiny and I just haven’t done anything with them yet.

  4. Anika January 30, 2008 at 4:03 AM #

    Thanks for the idea Cas – I just might add to my collection via the 50 states. And yes, Katya, postcards would be nice – but can I still have the shotglasses, too? And escuche me, Anonymous – sometimes I do attempt the NY Times crossword – I don’t really finish them, but there’s something to be said for trying…

Leave a Reply

