Meme

5 Feb

Flannery has tagged me for a book meme:

1) Take the nearest book of more than 123 pages.
2) Find page 123.
3) Find the fifth sentence.
4) Post the next three sentences.
5) Tag some folks.

Therefore, I present to you a lovely excerpt from Love in the Time of Cholera:

“In the store that sold imported foods she lifted the lid of a barrel of pickled herring that reminded her of nights in the northeast when she was a very little girl in San Jaun de la Cienaga. She sampled an Alicante sausage that tasted of licorice, and she bought two for Saturday’s breakfast, as well as some slices of cod and a jar of red currants in aguardiente. In the spice shop she crushed leaves of sage and oregano in the palms of her hands for the pure pleasure of smelling them, and bought a handful of cloves, another of star anise, and one each of ginger root and juniper, and she walked away with tears of laughter in her eyes because the smell of the cayenne pepper made her sneeze so much.”

In the same tradition, the smell of pepper always brings tears of laughter to my eyes as well . . . when I was in the fourth grade dining at a local family restaurant, I crushed pepper in my hand and told Megaan,
“Close your eyes and SNIFF really, really hard!”
She did . . . though laugh she did not.
As tears of anger streamed from her eyes, they also streamed from mine, as my parents, not amused, ostracized me to a table next to theirs and made me dine alone for my ill planned prank.
Nevertheless, I still find this funny, and with the passing of time, Megaan finally does too.

5 Responses to “Meme”

  1. Megaan February 5, 2008 at 6:45 AM #

    I do not find the pepper incident the least bit humorous! I still hold a grudge for that, you know.

  2. Noelle February 5, 2008 at 4:44 PM #

    Ha! That reminds me of the time I opened up a Pixie stick, emptied it, and filled it with salt and made my little sister eat it. Oh, good times when you laugh so hard you can’t breathe. And then you get grounded.

  3. Rachel February 6, 2008 at 1:35 AM #

    oooh, thats a different one!!!

    xo

  4. Zee February 6, 2008 at 9:25 PM #

    I’m hoping to get mine done tonight. Thanks for the tag! I love these things!

  5. punchlinewalking February 7, 2008 at 2:43 PM #

    I’m impressed that the nearest book was Love in the Time of Cholera!

Leave a Reply

