Happenstance

22 Mar

If I hadn’t once played soccer with a group of Czechs in Europe, I wouldn’t have met The Painter, whose mother adviced me to attend U of D for grad school where I taught in a program wherein I met Katerina.

I woudn’t have attended her bar-b-que, where I met George Glass, who taught me the additional steps of an Arabic dance which I wouldn’t have known had I not gone to Al Amir last summer with Eva, whom I wouldn’t have known had she not married the American she met in Kazakhstan whom she wouldn’t have met if he hadn’t divorced his first wife.

Therefore, I wouldn’t have spent fabulous hours at the hookah lounge last night, left my keys in George’s friend’s car, stayed up so very late as a result, wouldn’t have decided to stay home tonight due to my resulting fatigue, and would therefore not be sitting on my couch presently composing this post.

Thus, my present moment can be traced back to a soccer game and an American man’s divorce. It’s quite a chain of events leading to a rather monotonous present (sitting on my couch isn’t the most exciting of events), but a striking look at how each decision we make not only affects our present moment but also the present moment of others whom we might not even know.

Such questions as to whether our existence is coincidence, destiny, or a matter of choice are pondered in the most charming film short “The Danish Poet,” which I had the pleasure of viewing tonight. (Coincidence? I think not . . .) It’s short, sweet, and definitely worth fifteen minutes of your life. (And who knows – it might lead to a present moment wherein you are sitting on your couch writing a blog.)

Youtube posts the short film in two parts; following is part one, and part two can be found on youtube:

4 Responses to “Happenstance”

  1. katya March 22, 2008 at 8:48 PM #

    The scary thing is that you can make a chain of events from the beginning of life until right this very moment. Inspired by your post, I started doing it and it kind of freaked me out. So needledd to say, I stopped. It makes me wonder about the future chain of events in my life….
    By the way-I had seen the Danish Poet before, but thank you for reminding me.

  2. Noelle March 24, 2008 at 12:42 PM #

    I was having a dream about this last night: the chain of events that takes you someplace, and could you ever get there via a different route?

  3. kb March 25, 2008 at 4:29 AM #

    Oh, I saw that movie. You’re right, it is really charming!

  4. punchlinewalking March 31, 2008 at 4:31 PM #

    I love that. My husband and I met completely randomly, and would have never crossed paths again if the stars hadn’t aligned just so. I always think about how so many things in my life would be different now if we hadn’t met.

    Wow, I’m sappy for a Monday!

Leave a Reply

