Musings of Days Mundane [or not] . . .

15 Apr

– Last week was national “Road Work Awareness Week.” I’m not exactly sure how I could be any more aware of the disrepair of Oak Lawn Ave; a fellow commuter in a Mercedes, however, beeped his horn at me as we awaited the light change on Oak Lawn, motioned for me to roll down my window, and actually asked permission to cut in front of me. I wish I could say he had a British accent and requested Grey Poupon, but he did not. He was merely “aware”.

– After an evening which included Dance, Dance (R)evolution, Ambrose Teesdale and I mused over whether the game is called Dance, Dance Evolution or Dance, Dance Revolution. Are we evolving into better dancers, and thus better people? Or are we revolting against the regime with dance moves worthy of Ricky Martin’s “Livin La Vida Loca”?

– George Glass and I discovered our “Sleep Numbers.” I am a 45 and he is a 35. After relating this story over appetizers and wine, Clementine Smith mused that this difference of 10 might be the eventual demise of our relationship; Anastasia pondered how a couple might adjust the difference in Sleep Numbers when…well, you know. And Megaan pointed out that if you are staying at the Radisson located on the Brazos river, detaching the Sleep Number tube from the mattress and to your river raft makes for very quick inflation.

– I had a Copy Right Meeting at work. Apparently, ideas are not copy righted, but the articulation of ideas are. So, if you have the bright idea to sell your soul to Mephistopheles for all the knowledge in the world, you can rightfully do so. But if you want to pass Goethe’s Faust off as your very own creation, this would be an infringement of copy right law. Likewise, if you have the grand idea of launching a gigantic banana into orbit over the State of Texas, go for it. If you want to create your own “art intervention” while doing so – sorry, it’s already a work in progress by another like-minded genius.

7 Responses to “Musings of Days Mundane [or not] . . .”

  1. Noelle April 15, 2008 at 2:29 PM #

    I saw a sketch once called “Dance Dance counter-revolution” about Cubans dancing their way to freedom. It was beautiful.

  2. Anika April 15, 2008 at 3:09 PM #

    That does sound very interesting – I’ll be sure to watch it.

  3. punchlinewalking April 15, 2008 at 4:12 PM #

    Hmmm…I guess I’m going to have to find something else to do with my gigantic banana!

  4. Anika April 15, 2008 at 4:42 PM #

    Yes, you and me both!

  5. Megaan April 15, 2008 at 6:45 PM #

    I really enjoyed this post! Very nice, work! However, I was misquoted. It is actually not the Brazos where I learned how to dismantle the Sleep Number device in order to blow up some water toys. (as one would NOT want to float that river!), but instead the Radisson at South Padre Island. At this fine hotel, you can either A) use all lung power to inflate your craft of choice OR B) pay the giftshop girl a total sum of $6 to use her pump OR C) test all Mission:Impossible skills learned from the great Tom Cruise and convert your SleepNumber bed into a state of the art inflating system.

  6. kb April 15, 2008 at 8:54 PM #

    Grey poupon. . .I miss those commercials!

  7. EP April 20, 2008 at 11:52 PM #

    That is absolutely crazy about the Mercedes driver. I wish everyone would act like that. And a British accent would only make it better…

Leave a Reply

