Musings | Autumn Prelude

3 Sep

Hurricane winds herded coastal clouds across the sky today like buffalo across the plains; all sorts of billowing shapes slowly and arrogantly traversed through Dallas with nonchalance, and their presence against the blue, purple, and pink skies, along with the wind whisking across my body and through my hair, and the light rain shower around noon, made this the most perfect prelude into Fall.
The striking fellow pictured here was among my favorites; robust and swollen, looming, brooding, he is surely Gustav himself, or at least he feigns to be. His secret is kept safe in Dallas, however, a city of great pretenders.
Sitting on my balcony at dark, I can still see smaller clouds moving calmly across the night sky, watching the rushing traffic below with smug amusement. It seems that the wind, too, has conspired with the sky to scorn the city, as the sound of it rushing through the trees easily outplays the sounds of rushing highways below.
Days and evenings such as this are surely what Wordsworth and Baudelaire are made of, and it seems shameful to sleep knowing that upon waking the scorching sun of Texas will have returned to cruelly postpone our Autumn, but still, what a beautiful, beautiful day.

7 Responses to “Musings | Autumn Prelude”

  1. Anonymous September 3, 2008 at 3:54 AM #

    I am ashamed to admit I was disappointed by that puny little hurricane. I had my disaster kit ready; and had fled to high ground (Colorado). I did not want anyone to be hurt or killed; but a little excitement (aside from Geraldo’s hysterical shrieking at absolutely nothing,) would have, at least sent my blood pressure up a bit.

    Tell no one of my hope of a fearful hurricane. I am a very sick person.

  2. Noelle September 3, 2008 at 1:27 PM #

    That photo looks a lot like one of the dust storms from the dirty 30’s!

  3. Sheri Rheem September 3, 2008 at 2:16 PM #

    Well, after reading that lovely piece on your blog, I feel somewhat peaceful. For me, that is a very, very rare feeling that happens almost never in this armpit of a place called Texas. To all devoted Texas, I am deeply sorry to offend.

    Thank you for allowing me a moment of bliss.

  4. Anonymous September 3, 2008 at 4:55 PM #

    Blow on thy great & mighty wind; Blow!

  5. Anonymous September 3, 2008 at 10:10 PM #

    it is me, julie u be a good writing girl

  6. MLJ September 4, 2008 at 6:47 PM #

    I really enjoyed your post! The way you word everything really “paints a mental picture”. However, I am very sad to see summer leaving us – I love the heat, and beautiful sunshine making me feel warm all over!

  7. michelle September 5, 2008 at 4:44 AM #

    Beautiful words. I am not nearly as poetic in describing the weather where I live – Southern California. It’s sunny. It’s slightly breezy. Tomorrow, it will be the same.

Leave a Reply

