On Writing | Back in the Blogosphere

3 May

After a vacation from blogging, one which lasted much longer than I’d anticipated, I’ve decided to come out of retirement and make my mark, once again, in cyber-space.

Whether or not I have readers left, I know not. Whether or not I was missed, I cannot say. I can say, however, that I missed cyber-space. I missed reading my favorite blogs. I missed keeping up with the musings of my favorite bloggers. And most of all, I missed Writing.

Which brings me to a question often asked by my non-blogging friends. What is the point of a blog? For those who are not fans, a blog is a mirror for a Narcissist who thinks the world actually cares about the mundane events of her daily grind. Well, this is partially true, at least for me.

But in all actuality, I think people blog because they must. Many a writer has been quoted as saying “I write because I have to.” It’s not about money (there isn’t any), nor is it about publicity (most writers reach fame posthumously). It’s more so about the innate need to write. As a thirsty man reaches for a glass of water, a writer reaches for a pen.

I’ve been writing since I learned the alphabet. Every now and then, my mother comes across a poem or short story I wrote in first grade, fifth grade, or high school and sends it on my way. Looking over the unsophisticated prose of my juvenile musings, I sometimes cringe at my poor rhymes or hyperbolic metaphors, but overall I recognize an unrelenting quest for meaning whether through a poem about a junior high crush, a short story about a homeless man, or a satire about the students in my AP English class. And the quest continues.

I’ll not be the judge as to whether what I’ve written is worth reading, but regardless of readership, I can’t stop writing. And thus, this blog is back, and as for now, I’m not planning another vacation anytime soon.

5 Responses to “On Writing | Back in the Blogosphere”

  1. punchlinewalking May 4, 2009 at 4:00 AM #

    Welcome back!!! I’ve missed your blog!

  2. Anonymous May 4, 2009 at 3:42 PM #

    I would like to read the satire about your fellow students in AP English! – LolaK

  3. themoderndash May 5, 2009 at 3:11 AM #

    As usual, I think the answers to many questions are simpler than we might imagine. Regarding the blog, I think we blog because we seek community. Whether the pros and cons of the blog versus the water-hole make it worthwhile is a matter of discussion.

  4. Metal July 16, 2011 at 11:26 PM #

    Man! I am about to finish reading your entire blog. Why have you stopped writing?!?! My mind has gotten used to this and it needs more to chew on 😐 So, …please get back to writing.. As a reward, I promise to answer (read ‘ramble on’) any 2 random questions you ask me ( well that sounds like a lousy reward, but isn’t writing itself a cathartic reward?)
    Cheers
    Abhinav

    • Anaka Johnston July 17, 2011 at 5:18 PM #

      Deal! I needed a nudge to start writing again, so look out for further posts! In the meantime…I’m thinking of questions for you!

Leave a comment