On Teaching | National Teacher’s Day

6 May

A holiday not celebrated enough is National Teacher’s Day. I actually teach but had no idea such a day existed until I drove through my local fast-food establishment and received a coupon that looked something like this:


In full anticipation, I wore my Sunday’s best to class, fully prepared for a few apples on my desk. No acknowledgment was made, however, and class continued as usual. Because Chick-fil-A seemed to be the the only means of appreciation, I drove through after class for my free 3-piece chicken meal. They didn’t even ask me for identification, which was completely disappointing. Either I look like a teacher or anyone could have gotten a free meal. I think I prefer the latter.

As I sat at home, enjoying a glass of wine and free Chick-fil-A, I started thinking about all the teachers I’ve had, among whom Mr. Haynes, my Honors English teacher stands out. He gave me a voice as a sophomore, encouraged me to write as a junior, and wrote my college letter-of-recommendation as a senior. When writing that letter, he asked what I wanted to major in.

“English Lit, of course,” was my reply and another classmate agreed. “Is there anything else worth studying?”

Mr. Haynes sighed. “All our best ending up as English teachers.”

“Oh, no.” I retorted. “I’m going to law school after undergrad.”

Mr. Haynes looked relieved. Little does he know, however, that here I sit, enjoying my Chick-fil-a on National Teacher’s Day, quite relived myself, that I’m not a lawyer and didn’t have to pose as a teacher to eat for free.

5 Responses to “On Teaching | National Teacher’s Day”

  1. Pia May 6, 2009 at 6:37 PM #

    Happy Teachers’ Appreciation Week from a fellow teacher!

  2. Joseph May 15, 2009 at 5:12 AM #

    Wine = good times and Chick fil’ A = good times, but I’m not sure about the two together. If it’s anything like my experience with pizza and chocolate milk, then 2 good times = a very, very bad time in the end.

    Your students were probably celebrating Teacher’s Appreciation by studying to get that A!

  3. Anika May 15, 2009 at 11:31 PM #

    Yes, Joseph, it’s quite a debacle. I love wine and I can’t say no to free food. As luck would have it, I got to have my cake and eat it, too.

  4. Dylan S. May 16, 2009 at 1:21 AM #

    People who can, do. People who can’t, teach.

    I ‘m being silly. You are great!

    Dylan

  5. Anonymous May 16, 2009 at 9:09 PM #

    Lips that touch liquor will never touch mine.

Leave a Reply

